

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 141

Introduced by:

James V. Espaldon
Ray Tenorio
Edward J. B. Calvo
Rory J. Respicio

201 NOV 28 PN 12:

RELATIVE TO COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE AKLAN ASSOCIATION OF GUAM FOR FORTY-TWO (42) YEARS OF CONTRIBUTIONS, SERVICE AND DEDICATION TO OUR ISLAND COMMUNITY AND TO THE PROVINCE OF AKLAN, PHILIPPINES; AND RECOGNIZING THE SELFLESS SPIRIT AND BENEVOLENCE OF THE ORGANIZATION'S MEMBERS, OFFICERS, BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND EX-OFFICIO ADVISORS.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, on April 25, 1956 Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay put pen to paper and officially established the province of Aklan with the signing of Republic Act 1414; and

WHEREAS, Aklan, originally known as "Minuro it Akean", is considered the oldest province in the Philippines and is believed to have been established as early as 1213 by settlers from Borneo, is comprised of seventeen (17) municipalities; they include Altavas, Balete, Banga, Batan, Buruanga, Ibajay, Kalibo, Lezo, Libicao, Madalag, Makato, Malay, Malinao, Nabas, New Washington, Numancia and Tangalan; and

WHEREAS, Aklan's economy is based primarily on its agricultural offerings, cottage industries, and an emerging aquaculture trade, all spread throughout an estimated land mass of two hundred thousand three hundred ninety-nine (200,399) hectares, the borough of Libacao boasts the largest portion of real estate while Lezo records the smallest. Kalibo is the capital city; and

WHEREAS, the Aklanons pride themselves on their world-renowned commemoration of the Ati-Atihan, "an incredibly uproarious and hysterical merrymaking" festival celebrated during the third Sunday of every month in honor of the Santo Nino; and

WHEREAS, the Aklan Association of Guam has kept alive the traditions of its homeland, fostering through the generations the pride of the Ati-Atihan, and have actively encouraged

community engagement, civic works and benevolence throughout the island; be it through fundraising for worthy causes or by supporting programs that enhance the quality of life, the association has seamlessly intertwined the Hafa Adai and Mabuhay Spirit with its core offerings since its inception in May of 1965; and

WHEREAS, contributions from the Aklan Association of Guam include the annual display of the Ati-Atihan festivities, at venuews through the island including the Annual Liberation Day Parade, and Guam Visitor's Bureau "Big Summer Festival" and donations of Ypao Beach Park Picnic Shelters, financial assistance with the Archbishop Felixberto Flores statue in Perezville, Tamuning, wheelchairs to the Guam Memorial Hospital, and financial contributions to non-profit organizations such as: the Alee Shelter, the American Cancer Society, the Guam Lytico and Bodig Association, the American Red Cross,

and have provided scholarships to students enrolled at the University of Guam and

to students enrolled at the University of Guam; and

WHEREAS, currently stewarding the Aklan Association of Guam are the officers for the 2006-2008 term: Bernardita C. Tiberio, President; Rolfe G. Bañes, 1st Vice President; Susan S. Ibit, 2nd Vice President; Evangeline Magdael, Secretary; Jocilyn C. Baja, Assistant Secretary; Aurelio S. Solidum, Treasurer; Gemma F. Conlu, Assistant Treasurer; Marivie M. Luces, Auditor; Aida S. Luces, and Patrick S. Luces, Public Relations Officers, and Eustaquio Magdael and Joseph F. Entilla, Peace Officers; and

WHEREAS, ensuring that the association stays true to its mission and objectives are board members Marcy C. Andres, Ma. Winsy M. Bañes, Julie M. Cabales, Jackson T. Doroteo, Erlinda C. Flores, Narciso M. Ibit, Dorothy A. Igcasenza, Lawrence S. Luces, Lerisa F. Santiago, Presy M. Silvestre, Andrew T. Solidum, Bernie S. Solidum, Bernard S. Solidum, Mae I Soliva and Necita T. Torres; and

WHEREAS, those that have provided guidance and wisdom, lay the groundwork for the association include Ex officio Advisors Juanito Roldan, Johnny Q. Luces, †Epifania Payba, Nonoy Solidum, Porfirio Payba, Betty Fortaleza, †Joseph Balidio, Romeo Cabales, Tony S. Luces, Dubel S. M. Conlu, Roy S. Adonay and Linda Higa; and

WHEREAS, the Aklan Association of Guam family congregates today to celebrate over four (4) decades of existence and to give thanks to our creator for the blessings bestowed upon the people of the Province of Aklan, and all countrymen of the Philippines and fellow expatriates that have embraced the island and made Guam their home; as well as for the for the ability to impart offerings to our fellow citizenry; now therefore, be it

| 1 | RESOLVED , that the Executive Committee of <i>I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan</i> | |
|----|---|--------------|
| 2 | does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, commend and congratulate the Aklan Association of | |
| 3 | Guam for forty-two (42) years of contributions, service and dedication to our island community and | |
| 4 | to the Province of Aklan, Philippines; ; and be it further | |
| 5 | RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhar | |
| 6 | does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, and recognize the selfless spirit and benevolence of | |
| 7 | the organization's Members, Officers, Board of Directors and Ex-Officio Advisors; and be it further | |
| 8 | RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the | |
| 9 | adoption hereof and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Bernardita C. Tiberio, | |
| 10 | President of the Aklan Association of Guam; to Juanito Roldan, Johnny Q. Luces, †Epifania Payba | |
| 11 | Nonoy Solidum, Porfirio Payba, Betty Fortaleza, †Joseph Balidio, Romeo Cabales, Tony S. Luces, | |
| 12 | Dubel S. M. Conlu, Roy S. Adonay and Linda Higa, who selfessy serve as Ex officio Advisors; and | |
| 13 | to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'La | then Guåhan. |
| | DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE DAY OF 2007 | |
| | Edward J. B. Calvo | RAY TENORIO |
| | Acting Speaker and Senator | Senator and |

Chairman, Executive Committee

14

Secretary of the Legislature